Week 21 – Day 2 — A-ha!!!!

I’m on a flight pondering…it isn’t very often that we have time to ponder these days!!

This journey, my attempt to get my metabolism back in check, has now spanned 5 months. During this time I have learned a lot about myself – perhaps some things that I didn’t want to admit.

I knew that my view of food, and what was normal was skewed. I had no idea how to eat without a meal plan – or was that an excuse? For months I would have whatever I wanted, because my metabolism was so bad it didn’t matter anymore – but was this true?

I, very cleverly, convinced myself that I was a lost cause and that the damage was done. I used my metabolism as a crutch, so that I DIDN’T need to worry about food and weight….

At the time I was convinced that I had done serious damage – and perhaps I did. But now I am realizing that half of my trouble was likely a result of my need to blame the issue on something else, something outside of my actions, something out of my control.

These past few weeks I have had a revelation! An “a-ha” moment!! This may seem really simple, but I just needed to realize that I control my weight. I make the decision what to eat, when to eat it, the amount of activity I do, etc. Regardless of the training I have done in the past, I truly know how to eat and train – the problem was that I just didn’t want to do it anymore.

Here and now – I am taking back control of my actions and thoughts about nutrition and training. I am determined to get to a happy place, and I will.

A bit of a heavy, personal rant! Just got on a roll… And kept on rolling!!

Has anyone else had experiences like this? Have you ever talked yourself into believing something was wrong…when it really was not?

Melissa

About worktomend

I am a former figure competitor struggling with finding "normal" ways to train and diet. Follow me in my struggles on my road to recovery. View all posts by worktomend

6 responses to “Week 21 – Day 2 — A-ha!!!!

  • reneeboomer

    Good for you Melissa. It is so wonderful to have that ‘a-ha moment’. All the best. Renee πŸ™‚

  • jensine

    all teh time … funny how thoughts can stick in your head and make you believe

  • thehealthyfitdiva

    Yay for the ‘ah-ha’ moment!!! I think the biggest ‘ah-ha’ moment I had was realising that everyone is an individual and what works for one may not work for something else…so I stopped listening to all the outside ‘noise’ and just focused on what I knew would work for me. i really think that is the key πŸ™‚

  • La.

    I spent my whole life making excellent choices and THEN with pregnancy I got lazy. For the first time. And I realized how EASY lazy was. But how yucky it feels. I know what to do, BUT I kept telling myself that I didn’t because with breast feeding my metabolism is different. Ha, that doesn’t mean EVERYTHING is different… I don’t know if it is aha, but I started BACK on a meal plan and the weight has started coming off…

    • worktomend

      Sounds like an aha to me! Way to go! It is amazing what we can talk ourselves into believing. We just need to talk ourselves into believing that we can get this weight off – the right way!

Leave a Reply

