Week 18 – Day 7 — Measuring Progress

I hit a small speed-bump along my road to recovery this week.  It was the “Progress” speed-bump.

I have been moving along on this journey fairly well.  I have made healthy changes in my life through following a nutrition and training plan to a “T”.

Then came ….the bump!

I decided to hop on the scale, just for kicks.  To my surprise the number on the scale was the exact same as when I started this process 18 weeks ago.  This surprised me, and brought me down a few notches.  All I could think was, “with all of the changes that I have made…why is that number being so stubborn?”

After a bit of time, I came to my senses.  My progress is not entirely measured by the number on the scale.

Since starting this process I can name a number of areas in my life that have improved.  I am happier.  I have time to do the things that I love.  I have a healthier relationship with food.  I have a plan and know that I am moving in the right direction.

For me, progress is steady improvement.  Dropping weight quickly is what got me into this mess…dropping it slowly will help to get me out of it!

Thank you for reading my progress thoughts!  Enjoy your holiday!

Melissa

About worktomend

I am a former figure competitor struggling with finding "normal" ways to train and diet. Follow me in my struggles on my road to recovery. View all posts by worktomend

19 responses to “Week 18 – Day 7 — Measuring Progress

  • jensine

    Good for you .. I never seem to lose weight no matter what i do but I think a god attitude is something I want to gain 🙂

  • Goss Coaching

    Glad you were able to make the shift to remember you are not a number on the scale. The scale really is the least effective way to measure progress. It really is all about progress not perfection!

  • bobbiesfitness

    I’m finding your blog fascinating. I can’t wait to have time to read more of it. I’ve found in my weight loss journey that the scale was fine when I had significantly more body fat. Now that I’ve gotten lean I don’t use the scale anymore. I may take circumference measurements and set the timer on the camera and take front, back, and side profile pictures for myself to compare with previous pictures for progress. I might take the weight measurement when I take the pictures but I’ve learned to put to much value on the scale anymore. There is so much that can effect it by several lbs each day, water, sodium, food, digestive cycles, hormone cycles. Even the tape measure does not capture what the camera does.
    -Bobbie

  • thehealthyfitdiva

    Love this! So glad to hear you aren’t letting the number on the scale dictate how you feel or what you do with your exercise & nutrition plan. Just stick with it and eventually your body will make the changes it needs to. Hope you have a lovely easter!!!

    • worktomend

      Thank you! I hope you enjoyed your holiday too.

      Thanks for the reassurance. The scale and I have a funny relationship 🙂 For now though…I think we are on the outs 🙂

  • maggsworld

    I think you need to also consider the tape measure and how clothing fits. It is not always numbers on a scale, plus weight loss is NOT linear. There are stages where the body has to settle, too.

    • worktomend

      I completely agree. My body is still recovering from everything I have put it through…I am happy that I am beginning to stabilize again 🙂

      I hope that with a positive attitude and consistency, I’ll reach my goals!

      • maggsworld

        The only way to fail is to give up. We are also on a journey to learn to listen to our body. Sometimes we lose ( or increase ) but then I believe we also need to stabilise on our journey to allow our body to get used to where we are going. Keep going. I am accompanying you on this journey.

  • reneeboomer

    Great post!! Good for you. I like to leave the scale alone and just go by how my clothes fit and keep on with the fitness. Happy Easter. 🙂

  • coachchinh

    Yay! Good for you for recognizing your accomplishments instead of focusing on the end point. I’m so glad to hear improvements not just in your fitness level but also your mental well-being as well. You go girl!

    • worktomend

      Thank you! I have learned that the mental side of fitness is just as important as the physical side. It took awhile, but it finally sunk in 🙂

      Thank you for your kind words!

  • FitnessDietWill

    “Dropping weight quickly is what got me into this mess…dropping it slowly will help to get me out of it!”

    That’s the smartest thing I’ve read for quite a while! It could serve as an example for lots of people who want to lose all extra weight for a week. It’s just not the way! In fact, it is not recommended that more than 2 kilograms be lost per MONTH. That’s what many people, including me, would refer to as “healthy weight loss”. Please take not of it:)

    By the way, it is a great post:)

Leave a Reply

