Week 13 – Day 5 — Rest Required!

I had a bit of a hiccup this week. Diet and training were both great, but I came down with a terrible cold!

Now, this was hard for me. I’ve got a good routine going, and this cold interrupted it! I felt like missing a workout was going to put an end to all of my progress.

Then…I gave my head a shake. When I’m sick I need to rest! My progress will continue. It is not based on one workout. It is based on a lifestyle change. So, chalk one up for me! I’m getting used to this long term healthiness-and realizing that one workout missed is not the end of the world. Go me!!

Does anyone else out there have similar thoughts?

Take care,
Melissa

About worktomend

I am a former figure competitor struggling with finding "normal" ways to train and diet. Follow me in my struggles on my road to recovery. View all posts by worktomend

5 responses to “Week 13 – Day 5 — Rest Required!

  • thehealthyfitdiva

    I definitely used to get very upset when something interrupted my training, but now I know that listening to my bodies needs is way more important. On Monday I came back from a trip and should have gone straight back into training as planned. But I felt like crap and knew pushing myself wouldn’t do any good. So i took 2 days off then got back into it. Yesterday was another rest day, but today it’s back to the gym. I figure I’ve got my whole life, what’s the rush right?

    • worktomend

      Exactly! The more we push ourselves when we are not feeling 100%, the more rest time we will likely need in the end. We need to rest to recover. It was hard to get that through to my stubborn self…but I am glad that I am starting to come around! We DO have our whole lives. This is not a quick fix, this is a lifestyle!

  • thewondermya

    I’m the same, then I don’t rest, try to push myself through it, get worse and at the end of the week I am so exhausted I have to rest longer… LOL, stubborness is not always my best friend…

    • worktomend

      Agreed! But at least we are concious of it and working through it 🙂 That is the first step to overcoming our stubborness (of which I am very very guilty of too) 🙂

  • inspiredness

    Oh yes!! So important to remember to listen to what your body is trying to tell you. I would also get in the habit of being resistant to what my body needed…it really can go to extremes can’t it! Before kids I would find that I would want to push myself to the max in terms of “dieting” and exercise. After kids…I would want sweets but my body would rebel by giving me a headache, itchy skin (??), etc. Sometimes the body must trump the mind!

Leave a Reply

