Week 11 – Day 7 — Thoughts…

Well hello!  It is a beautiful day here in Atlantic Canada.  The sun is shining, and it is getting warmer and warmer these days.  I love it when the days get longer!  It definitely brings up the spirits!

I’m eating almond butter, Wasa crisps and drinking my morning coffee.  My little guy just finished his breakfast and is watching Looney Toons with his dad.  Life it good!  I really enjoy our Sunday mornings here at home – quiet and relaxing.

When I have this relaxation time, I tend to think.  Last night and today, my head has been spinning, constantly thinking of how technology has drastically changed our world is such a short amount of time.  Technology can do just about anything for us now.  We can stay in touch with people 24/7 be it through text message, facetime, or phone conversation.  We can learn our BMI by stepping on a scale.  We can post videos and photos just taken to social media sites for the world to see.  We can make one cup of coffee at a time (I love this one).  There are even cars that will park for us!

When I was younger, if someone had of told me what the world was going to look like nowadays, I am not sure that I would have believed them.  Now I am wondering what it is going to look like 10-20 years from now.  What kind of technology will my son grow up with?  He is already accustomed to touch screen technology.  Will he grow up in a world where keyboards are part of the past?  It is interesting to think about…

This brings me to my point.  Technology is in a constant state of new.  As consumers we explore the latest and greatest gadgets, etc all the time.  How do we incorporate this into our current existence?  Are we handling all of the newness well?  For example, when I grew up text messages did not exist.  Now for kids, text messaging and instant messaging are normal.  How do we ensure they are responsible with this technology?  Bullying seems to be more of an issue these days…online bullying too…is it due to a lack of educating kids to be responsible?  It is definitely easier to say something not so nice in a text or message, when the reader is not right in front of your face.  Are we being somewhat removed from reality?

This is true for adults as well.  I am guilty of being on my iPhone quite a bit.  I need to really think about when I use it.  Am I cutting into family time?  Am I paying attention to my phone when I should be paying attention to my family?  I am making a point to take breaks from it.  Like today (minus blogging), I will be spending the morning with my son – sans phone.  This way I can assure he is getting my undivided attention.

Do we need to plan breaks from technology?  I think that “powering off” once in a while will definitely help us to “reboot” (couldn’t resist – I am a sucker for corny jokes)!

Thank you for reading my rant – completely unrelated to training and diet 🙂  Now, back to my relaxing Sunday….

Melissa

 

 

About worktomend

I am a former figure competitor struggling with finding "normal" ways to train and diet. Follow me in my struggles on my road to recovery. View all posts by worktomend

Leave a Reply

