Week 11- Day 2 — “Fraud”?

Training and diet are going well. I seem to have struck a good balance, and am staying positive!

I have been traveling for work the past couple of days. Maintaining my diet while traveling used to cause me a great deal of anxiety. I am proud to say, as I fly home, that my diet was not perfect but was not out of control – and I am ok with that! This tells me that my focus has shifted, and that this process is working.

Now for my weekly attempt to be deep 🙂

Now that I have this new found focus time, I am spending a lot of time thinking and reflecting.

Have you ever been in a room with a group of people, and wonder why you are there? Wonder what exactly you are contributing? Scared of being “found out” – based on your own view of your strengths and weaknesses?

I deal with this. I am constantly at war with myself, insisting on the one hand that I am qualified and that my thoughts matter while on the other hand terrified of making a comment and coming across as a “fraud”.

I am realizing that perfection is not attainable. People make mistakes. That is how we grow and discover. We don’t have to be perfect to contribute!!!

I don’t have to have the best physique.

I don’t have to know all the right answers all the time.

I don’t have to know the absolute best way to parent.

I DO need to voice my thoughts more. Thoughts provoke questions and lead to discovery. If we don’t contribute our thoughts – it is a lost opportunity!

I guess I have been found out. By myself!! I am going to make a point of contributing more, and in all aspects of my life.

Thanks for listening to my inner struggles! The journey continues!!!

Melissa

About worktomend

I am a former figure competitor struggling with finding "normal" ways to train and diet. Follow me in my struggles on my road to recovery. View all posts by worktomend

4 responses to “Week 11- Day 2 — “Fraud”?

  • thehealthyfitdiva

    You matter!!! Your opinions, ideals, wants, needs, and everything in between matter. Finding balance is hard…it’s something i work on daily. Keep reminding yourself that you are amazing just the way you are. Inside and out. Nothing can stop you from having the life you want as long as you keep moving forward and stay positive 🙂

  • inspiredness

    Oh yes, I have felt this way more than once!! I am a stay-at-home mom and since having kids I honestly feel like my opinions don’t really matter to the general public anymore because I’m not “contributing” to society in the form of earning an income. This is a constant struggle for me. I know I matter, I know I have worthy things to say…positive affirmations!

Leave a Reply

