Week 10 – Day 2 — Triggers

I miss chocolate.

I have been so good!  I think I will treat myself tomorrow 🙂  I’m really cognizant of my cravings.  After  being so focused on food for so long, and now trying to get away from that way of being, I am fully aware of my triggers.  You know, the things in your life that just make you want to eat everything in sight.

I know that one of my triggers is being too restrictive with my diet.  If I go too long without a little treat, I start to think about it…then think about it some more…then really really think about it…eventually I’m pretty much dreaming about it!  When it gets to that point, I’m about ready to buy out the chocolate stock at the local grocery store.

So, now that I am in full control of my nutrition, and am aware of my cravings – I am going to have a piece of chocolate before I go over the edge and into chocolate heaven!!

What are your triggers?  How often do you treat yourself?  Are you able to stop at just a piece? 

I know that two months ago, I would eat more than my fill of chocolate.  Not anymore!  Success!!!

Happy Treating!

Melissa

About worktomend

I am a former figure competitor struggling with finding "normal" ways to train and diet. Follow me in my struggles on my road to recovery. View all posts by worktomend

6 responses to “Week 10 – Day 2 — Triggers

  • Melanie

    I just found your blog and I can say I relate to a lot of what you’re talking about! I’m really trying to eat well and exercise, but I still want my treats! I love chocolate!! I like to set short term goals for myself and then have a “treat day” here and there. It’s so tough to find the balance. I look forward to reading more of your blog.

    • worktomend

      Hi Melanie, I just looked through your blog – we seem to be on the same page! Yes…balance…it seems to be elusive sometimes, and chocolate is always there when you need it! I look forward to reading more of your blog as well. It is great to meet someone with such similiar thoughts!

  • maggsworld

    I, too, have just found you and we appear to be on a similar journey!!! I think it is important to treat ourself, especially when we are working hard to achieve the best possible body. For myself, there are some foods I JUST can’t control once I start, so initially at least I stop those foods. I like to set aside one meal a week where I can have anything I choose no matter what that is!! That one meal, since I know it is coming, helps me stick to my plan the rest of the time. I also find if it is just ONE meal, I don’t spiral into continuing and undoing all the work I have so far done. Expect me to pop by more often 🙂

  • Karen Fili Sullivan

    Melanie, Amazing how many of us have been through the horrors of training. I had a woman I trained about 3 years ago for a figure competition. I worked very hard to train her the right way but she still was beaten down at the end of it all. We did not deprive her of calories, cut her fluids, sweat her out of any of the other tricks. I turned 57 this year and have a body which may never give up the extra pounds. After eating 400 calories a day and burning 1200 — well, I rest my case. I am beat up and can’t do the high intensity cardio necessary because my body breaks down. So, I do the best I can — just as you are doing. You are a smart young woman! My best to you.

    • worktomend

      Wow! Thank you for your kind words! I am so glad you stopped by. This is tough situation we are in – feels like we’re stuck in a sort of limbo. I have decided to stop being at war with my body and to work with it instead. Maybe then i will be able to slowly get back where I want to be. I hope we get to converse again!

Leave a Reply

