Week 7 – Day 3 — General Wellness

“How have you been?”  What a loaded question!  I always smile and answer it without thinking.  “Not bad!”, “Great!”, “Same old, same old”….

Today someone asked me this standard pleasantry.  I felt he had a genuine interest, so I gave him a genuine answer.  Can you guess what it was?   

“Great!”

Ha!  In all seriousness, that was my response and it was a quick one.  Ironic?  Somewhat.  The difference is that this time around my answer wasn’t empty.  I thought about it and came to the conclusion that  I have created for myself a general feeling of wellness.

For me a general feeling of wellness is feeling positive, on top of things, sharp, playful, etc.  I attribute this all to the journey that I have been on for the past 6.5 weeks.  I feel like I am regaining control.  My mind is right – I am beginning to understand the importance of balance. 

So why am I so content?  What has this journey done for me?  Well, how about a pie analogy (who doesn’t love pie?)  If I were a pie with many pieces, each piece representing a part of my identity, what would each piece be? 

 My focus has shifted to the things in my life that are the most important.  I have let go of my belief that competing is part of who I am, and have placed that energy where it needs to be.  No more worrying about getting the exercise in and eating chicken!

This road that I am on is a great one…things are being put into perspective.  And… I feel great!

About worktomend

I am a former figure competitor struggling with finding "normal" ways to train and diet. Follow me in my struggles on my road to recovery. View all posts by worktomend

4 responses to “Week 7 – Day 3 — General Wellness

  • wartica

    Good luck on your journey; those first steps are always the hardest but once you get going, anything is possible. Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

  • La.

    I’m curious to know more about your journey. We all have some type of journey/struggle and I’m going to have to learn how to fit another child into our family AND cook healthy meals AND be a Mom to two! Sometimes I just can’t imagine! BUT, I know that the end result is worth it! I don’t want to be large and in charge for such a long time. It took me a long time to lose the weight after my first daughter and I want this next journey to be better! It sounds like you have a SOLID plan!

  • thewondermya

    You will get there, that is for sure.

Leave a Reply

