Week 5 – Day 6 — Patience

I have always been the person who wants to see instant results, needs instant gratification, needs to see things NOW. 

Some examples:

With previous dieting experiences I would see results within weeks, and was motivated to keep going because of it. 

Having a food “cheat” day, and going waaaay overboard with sugary foods because I loved the instant rush.

Getting frustrated with a build up for an exercise because I want to be able to just lift the target weight.

Submitting  projects and feverishly monitoring my transcript for the final result.

These are just a few.  Now, I am not suggesting that I am doing a complete shift from this, but I am noticing that my mindset is changing a bit.

I have now been doing the same circuit training and following the same diet plan for close to 6 weeks.  I have not seen a great deal of change physically, but am patiently waiting.  I trust that it will come (completely out of character)!  I am experiencing a change mentally.  I am not so focused on the physical, but am working on my mind and maintaining a positive outlook in this process. 

This journey to recovery is touching all parts of my life.  I am a happier person (people who know me would wonder if that is even possible!), loving life, and spending more time with my family.  I am learning to be patient.  After all – good things come to those who wait!

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend,

Melissa

About worktomend

I am a former figure competitor struggling with finding "normal" ways to train and diet. Follow me in my struggles on my road to recovery. View all posts by worktomend

3 responses to “Week 5 – Day 6 — Patience

  • Monica Pierce

    Hello!

    My name is Monica. My best friend is starting up figure competitions and I was curious as to how your journey went? Is it hard to go back to normal workouts afterwards? Thanks so much

    PS. Her site is http://www.LizzyFitness.com

    • worktomend

      I loved competing. I absolutely loved it! The more shows that I did, the more I had to increase my training. My metabolism steadily slowed down with each competition. It was difficult for me to get back to “normal” after competing. I am still working on it and it has been over a year. However, everyone is different. I don’t think that I was genetically meant to compete.

      Before starting competing I would definitely research it. It is important to determine if your friend has the proper genetic make up. I would read anything by Scott Abel. He is very well versed in training and the aftermath of competing.

      All in all, all I can say is that I loved it! It just didn’t love me! Your friend may be built for it though. If she is, then I say go for it and have fun!

  • Monica Pierce

    I think it’s a really interesting experience. I am enjoying reading her process on her blog. Best of luck during your “recovery” 🙂

Leave a Reply

