Week 4 – Day 1 — Internal Dialogue

I read something recently that has been stuck in my head: “If you have an internal dialogue when eating anything, then you have a problem”.  I deal with this everyday! 

I just ate my breakfast:  3 Wasa crisps with 1 tbsp natural peanut butter, and 1 cup of strawberries. 

My internal dialogue:  “There’s a lot of fat in the peanut butter.  I wonder if I should skip the strawberries?  Ooohhh…those Christmas chocolates look good.  No, I won’t have one.  There’s an anniversary party today, I’ll have  treat there”. 

I agree that this is a problem.  It is going to be a long journey to get to a place where my diet does not control my life.  I will get there though, and it will be amazing!

Do you have a similar internal dialogue?  What are your strategies for quashing it?

The holidays are almost done for another year.  It has been filled with family, smiles, and a lot of food!  I think that letting go of the diet over the holidays is smart.  Otherwise, the restricting may lead to overindulging.  It also let me enjoy my time, without having to worry about what I was going to eat at a family function (although…you know that I did anyway – habit!)

Thanks everyone for your kind comments and input.  This blogging experience has been excellent so far.  It is therapeutic! 

Take care,

Melissa

About worktomend

I am a former figure competitor struggling with finding "normal" ways to train and diet. Follow me in my struggles on my road to recovery. View all posts by worktomend

4 responses to “Week 4 – Day 1 — Internal Dialogue

  • ybenner

    Great post. This is something that I do struggle with on a daily basis. I also have the uncertainty of what will cause an IBS flare and what will not. I did give in over the holidays and enjoyed some bread, but I paid for it later with horrid stomach pains. At least that is a reminder to me that I need to stay on track. I can’t wait until this gets easier as well.

    Best of luck to you!

  • Stuff My Brain Thinks

    Hi Melissa, I struggle with internal dialog (negative self talk). I must say I am getting a lot better with it. I am now able to recognize it and change it, most of the time. However my happiness does depend on what I am eating. If I am eating terribly. I am miserable. If I am eating healthy. I am happy.

    • worktomend

      I agree. My happiness also revolves around what I am eating…I am controlled by it. I really hope that I can train myself out of it. It is all consuming!

      Before I started competing, I had no issue with food. I just want to get back to that happy place again. Someday!

Leave a Reply

