Week 2 – Day 1

After a weekend of Christmas parties, it was great to get back on track.  I am surprised by the amount of food in my diet (all clean).  It is a lot!!!  I don’t think I’ve ever eaten this much food. 

From what I hear, when trying to recover from a slow metabolism, you gain before you start to see progress….this will be difficult for me, but I am definitely ready and willing to take this long journey.  I just want to be back in the days where I could eat like everyone else!

I’m liking the circuit training.  It’s quick, but isn’t easy.  I’ve been working out at home after my little guy goes to bed.  That way I don’t lose my time with him.

I am hesitant to get back to the gym though.  It’s hard to walk in there.  It sounds ridiculous, but it feels like people expect you to look a certain way after you have competed.  I’ll get back there full force some day.  Positivity is the key!

Again, if any of you out there are experiencing a slowed metabolism after competing, please join the discussion!  We can bounce ideas off each other 🙂

Until next time!

Melissa

About worktomend

I am a former figure competitor struggling with finding "normal" ways to train and diet. Follow me in my struggles on my road to recovery. View all posts by worktomend

2 responses to “Week 2 – Day 1

  • jordangkessler

    Hi!
    I am also trying to get my metabolism up and running again. I had been eating way too few calories for too long and really slowed it down. I have been eating more and trying to be okay with the weight gain. I don’t really know how long it will take for it to get used to a regular diet, but I’m hoping it won’t take too long.
    You seem determined to get through it and I think you’ll do great!

    • worktomend

      Thanks! I’m not sure if it is determination or stubbornness 🙂 It is so easy to fall into an obsession with diet and training. People used to look up to me and think I was so healthy, when in actuality I was very very unhealthy. I hear you about the weight gain. It is tough. I just keep reminding myself that there is a light at the end of the tunnel. If we have trained our body to act as it is now…then we can train it to get back to normal. I wish you the best of luck with your progress! It will happen!

Leave a Reply

